top of page
  • Writer's picturethesomerstwins

Random Acts of Kindness You Can Do Right Now

Did you know February 17th is Random Actos of Kindness Day? There's no denying the world could use a little more kindness, but sometimes it can be hard to think of ways we can be kind with limited time and resources.


Here, I share some of my favorite random acts of kindness you can do right now, from home, to celebrate this important day!

In late summer of 2020, I was in pretty low spirits. Until a few weeks ago, I had been preparing to fly out to Los Angeles the next month, embarking on a new chapter of my life as I began my freshman year of college at my dream school, the University of Southern California. But that July, the email came from the university: all classes would be held online due to COVID-19. Instead of spending my first semester of college in the City of Angels, I'd be spending it confined to the small desk under my loft bed in my bedroom, leaving the house only for my dreaded weekend shifts at McDonald's. I was crushed, and, admittedly, spent the better half of the month sulking around feeling sorry for myself.


Sometime in August, Ashley and I received an inconspicuous white envelope with no return address in the mail. Inside were two $20 bills and a handwritten note saying "I know gas is expensive right now, so here's one less thing to worry about." There was no signature on the note, and though we have some guesses, we'll never know for sure who the kind stranger that paid for our next month's gas bill was.


This was the first time I'd even heard of "random acts of kindness," but I was immediately interested. While of course I appreciated the money, it truly was the thought behind this generous gift that counted. I had been walking around believing the world was against me, and this simple act was a much-needed reminder of all the people who were rooting for me and supporting me, even when I wasn't aware of it. The anonymous letter truly made my week, and I wanted to give others the same feeling.

Since then, Ashley and I have done "Acts of Kindness" projects for birthdays, holidays, and as activities with friends. Some have been days-long commitments, some just 20-minute exercises when we have a moment of spare time. Either way, these have become one of my favorite pass times, so I wanted to share some of my top ideas that you can do anytime in hopes that they will bring you as much joy as they bring me!


#1 - Make Cards for Sick Kids


There are many organizations that will accept and deliver cards to kids in hospitals, and because these cards can be as simple or elaborate as you'd like, this is a great option no matter how much time you have! My favorite is Cards for Hospitalized Kids because you can mail physical cards for them to deliver, but many children's hospitals have programs to create and send digital cards to their patients. Just be sure to read the rules for whichever program you choose, as most have specifications on what to include or not include in your message.


#2 - Clean Out Your Closet


A little home improvement can double as an act of kindness! Take some time to sort through old clothes and donate the things you are no longer wearing. Be honest with yourself -- I'm certainly guilty of thinking "That still fits, I should keep it," but if I haven't worn it in five years, am I really ever going to wear it again?

You can take your donation to a thrift store like Arc or Goodwill, or pay attention to local action centers or relief organizations that might accept clothing donations. Additionally, many schools and churches will set up donation programs, especially in the winter months.



#3 - Bake Cookies


I absolutely LOVE baking, so this is probably one of my favorites! Whip up a batch of cookies (or cupcakes, or brownies, or cake pops...you get the idea!) and drop them off anonymously on friends' or neighbors' doorsteps. My friends and I have also done this and taken the treats to local fire stations, just make sure you call ahead to find out if they'll accept homemade goodies.


#4 - Positivity Notes


Acts of kindness don't have to be limited to strangers. If you live with others, put sticky notes around your house or apartment with positive sayings. These can be inspirational quotes, compliments, even dad jokes; whatever you think will make your housemates smile!


#5 - Call A Family Member or Friend


Take a few extra minutes out of your day to let a special family member or friend know you're thinking of them. Consider calling someone you haven't talked to in a while, or someone who lives alone and could use some company.


#6 - Set Out A Thank-You Basket For Delivery Drivers


My parents operate their business out of our house, so FedEx and UPS are sometimes hourly visitors at the Somers residence. An easy way to brighten these hardworking drivers' day is to set out a basket with some packaged snacks, sodas, and/or bottled water. Tape a note to the basket inviting them to take what they'd like and thanking them for their service.


#7 - Become A Pen Pal For A Senior


This is a great one if you're able to make a longer-term commitment. Sign up as a volunteer for the organization Project Pen Pal, and you'll be matched with a senior at an assisted living facility or nursing home. You'll mail the letter directly to your new pen pal, and then it's up to both of you to continue exchanging letters for as long as you'd like!


#8 - Write Chalk Messages On The Sidewalk


Who says chalk is just for kids? Wish your neighbors a good day by getting outside and writing positive messages on the sidewalk. You can even leave personal notes on friends' driveways, as long as you're sure they would be okay with it.


#9 - Leave a Positive Review


It may not seem like much, but as a small business owner, trust me when I say that one positive review can make a big difference. Take a few minutes to leave a review on Yelp or Google for a favorite local business or event. New establishments and mom-and-pop shops are two suggestions that could always use some extra help getting their name out!


#10 - Challenge Others To Be Kind


They say kindness is contagious, so why not spread it? Take some time to consider how you can use your platform to encourage kindness. You could create a Secret Santa-style challenge among co-workers to each do something kind for another, share act of kindness ideas on social media, or mail $1 bills to nieces and nephews with instructions for using their dollar to pay it forward. How can you use the resources you have to share the joy of giving back with others?


Make Somebody Smile Today


It's easy to forget in our busy lives how much power we have to impact another person's life. Whether you use one of my suggestions or come up with your own, I hope that you can use Random Acts of Kindness Day as a reminder that it doesn't take much to make someone's day, and maybe you'll even discover some joy for yourself in doing so!

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page