top of page
  • Writer's pictureAspen

Eat Chocolate For Breakfast With One Of These Delicious Recipes

Chocolate for breakfast? Yes, please! Start your morning off right with one of these nutritious and filling recipes that taste like eating dessert for breakfast!


If you've been keeping up with our blog, you know that eating often feels like a chore for me (if not, read about my health journey here.) Finishing a meal sometimes is a daunting task, so I do everything I can to make it as enjoyable as possible. Breakfast is usually my favorite meal of the day; I come from a long line of major sweet-tooth's, and I love baking, so I've perfected many a recipe for dessert-ified (if that's not a word, it ought to be!) breakfasts during my recovery. Eating something that tastes good is always easier!


They say breakfast is the most important meal, so don't underestimate what a little chocolate can do to set you and your family up for a better day. And don't limit yourself to breakfast, either; you can whip up these easy, small batch recipes for any meal or snack. You can expect many more of my dessert for breakfast recipes in the future, but since I think chocolate is pretty much a universal happiness-inducer, I had to share these first!


Recipe #1 - Oatmeal Breakfast Brownie


This is hands-down my favorite recipe on this list, and I'm not exaggerating when I say I'd rather eat this than a regular brownie. I am super picky about the texture of brownies, but these are perfectly crispy on top and cakey in the middle. Because of the oats, it doesn't resemble a brownie exactly, but I prefer the additional chewiness from the oats and I guarantee that the flavor is on point!


This recipe can easily be multiplied to feed the whole family, or to make extra servings to freeze and enjoy later. Wrap each brownie in parchment paper and freeze in an airtight container for best results.








Recipe #2 - Chocolate "Pudding" Yogurt


This two-minute yogurt is even easier to make than instant pudding, and it's nutritious enough to eat for breakfast! What more could you want?


This recipe is very versatile, so you can use whatever kind of yogurt you have on hand and experiment with toppings of your choosing. For an extra-special treat, I love sandwiching this yogurt between two graham crackers (make sure it's really thick or it'll turn into a runny mess) and tossing it in the freezer for a breakfast ice cream sandwich!





Recipe #3 - Peanut Butter Cup Protein Mug Cake


If you haven't bought into the mug cake craze yet, you need to! This was the first mug cake recipe I ever tried, and I was hooked. It's so easy to make, and comes out tasting like a dessert fresh from the oven.


I am not a fan of the artificial, bitter taste that many foods with protein powder have, but in my opinion this mug cake doesn't have that at all! That being said, you can still tell that the cake is made with protein powder, so if you're opposed to the taste or texture I'd recommend trying a different recipe.



Recipe #4 - Microwave Hot Cocoa French Toast


I always make egg-based meals in the microwave, otherwise I find they create far too many dishes than they're worth. There are many recipes on the internet for mug French toast, but the hot chocolate twist is my creation which I still think makes me a genius! This is similar to a French toast casserole or bread pudding, but takes just minutes to make rather than the usual overnight soaking that those casseroles generally require.





Recipe #5 - Chocolate Quinoa Bites


This recipe is probably my most controversial; my dad and sister are still adamantly opposed to the idea of quinoa in desserts. I say, don't knock it until you try it! These chocolate quinoa bites are sort of like a mixture between a muffin and a cookie. Made in a mini muffin tin, they are perfectly convenient to grab on the go, and you can customize the flavor with whatever add-ins you'd like.


One batch yields two full servings of six bites, so share with family and friends or store in an airtight container at room temperature for 3-4 days.




Did You Try These Recipes?


Comment below to let us know your favorite, or share a picture of your creation and tag us on Instagram at @thesomerstwinsofficial. And, be sure to subscribe for more dessert for breakfast recipes and other tips, posts, and inspiration for a more joyful life!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page